Contemporary Romance, Erotica

Trophy Wife by Alessandra Torre

Trophy Wife

Trophy Wife

After finishing college with student loans, Candace Tapers’ dream of using her degree goes up to flames when the reality of finding job seemed fruitless. Now, Candace works the pole to make ends meet. Until he met Nathan Dumont. He needed a wife. She needed money. It was a perfect contract but secrets can’t be hidden forever. 

I thought I was trading a strip club for a mansion and Ramen noodles for caviar. I did not realize I was selling my soul to the devil.

I’ve read a lot of Alessandra Torre’s books and Trophy Wife had her style written all over it. It has the perfect mix of romance, eroticism and suspense. I had a hard time putting this book down because every chapter leaves me hanging. Her characters gave off the same feels like the ones in Black Lies. Personally, I don’t think it’s a bad thing. Candace and Nathan were just perfect for this story.

I love how demure and sassy Candace can be. She dealt whatever hand life gave and made grueling choices in expense of her own well-being. Candace may have a few moments but she put her own happiness first in the end. I had mixed feelings regarding Nathan. Was he a knight in a dark horse? Or the villain hiding behind a handsome face? He was so frustrating. One minute I was falling for him, the next I’m plotting all the ways to kill him. I had a hard time forgiving him for what he made Candace do chapter 30. However, my heart cries out to them both at the end. Their love is just so passionately explosive.

I was expecting a more dramatic scene than what happened in chapter 52. My gosh I was so frustrated with them! I want to slap a bitch. It was like the blissfully happy few chapters never happened. I need Nathan’s POV of those moments. I have lots of questions with the other characters. Like, you know, Drew? I’m curious what happened with him after. Nonetheless, I am so incredibly happy I read this book. It is an excellent read if you’re in the mood for some romantic erotica and just curl up in bed.

Read: April 2017

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

