Contemporary Romance, Fantasy, Young Adult

Underworld Series by Chani Lynn Feener

Unhinged

underworld1

*ARC provides in exchanged of honest review*

FOUR INSANELY GOOD STARS!!!

Spencer Perry would do anything to have Micah back into her life. Anything includes making a deal with the devil himself. Spencer barters six months of living in the Underworld in exchanged for her boyfriend’s life. Little did Spencer know that nothing would ever be the same. Will Spencer live through the consequences of her actions? Or would she be lured by a certain devil like Persephone did?

“Your existence hinders on no one but yourself. Only you can write your destiny. Fate is a mere parlour trick designed to coax you into believing otherwise. There is always a choice.”

I’ve been fascinated with Greek mythology since high school which made me sign up for a copy of Unhinged. I’ve never read a modern retelling of Hades and Persephone’s ‘love story’. It’s probably because Hades was the bad guy no one cared about. Or because he doesn’t have much cool tricks like Zeus and Poseidon. I was familiar with different versions of that ‘love story’ so I was expecting a little twist that would make this story unique.

I love the differences Chani Lynn Feener did. She changed a huge chunk of what we already knew and created a whole new concept. I love the diversity of this book. It was so refreshing to read new ideas and perspectives. I love the characters, though I had a hard time liking Spencer. Her personality varies so much. One minute she’s this tough girl and the next she’s swallowing her words. And I can’t stand how much she loves Micah. It’s probably because all I can see in Micah was this ghost that wouldn’t rest and move on. Things started to get interesting after we met Hades. I’m such a sucker for the bad guys. And the feels! Imagine spending twelve hours every day for a year with this guy… I know right?

I would’ve given this book a higher rating but it took me a while to get the hang of it. I think the world building could use a little more work. Not everyone knows the ins and outs of Greek mythology which could lead to some confused readers. I had this vision of Hades being the epitome of sin given that he ruled the Underworld, so I didn’t expect him to look like an eighteen year old guy. I gather that this is a YA Fantasy but I think we could’ve pushed him to be at least twenty years old. Despite all that, this is a really good read especially for those who loves Greek Mythology (like I do)!

Read: November 25, 2016

Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

