Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Bossman by Vi Keeland

Bossman

bossman

Reese Annesley and Chase Parker met in the most unusual ways that eventually lead to a cliché working relationship. They had a hot chemistry and it was only a matter of time before Reese gave in to Chase’s arms. But dark pasts had a habit of messing up the present. Could Chase find redemption before it’s too late? Or would Reese be long gone leaving second chances behind?

“Hope. It’s an amazing thing. It grows inside of you like a vine and wraps around your heart, making it warm. Until someone stomps on it.”

I’ve never read anything of Vi Keeland’s and I just read a funny quote so I decided to give it a go. I love the storyline. I didn’t expect a little twist from their pasts. It added a bit of allure and suspense to the story. I never guessed who the killer was. I didn’t even suspect this character! I was so blindsided like the rest and it actually made sense when the truth was finally revealed. It made things rocky for Chase and Reese but it was a good hurt that balanced out the laughters in the story.

The characters were different in a way I never expected. I never thought I’d say this, but I love how Chase Parker lies. His ability to spring a story on the spot is just so ridiculously funny. Like any other heroes out there, Chase had a tortured past that kept people at arm’s length. My heart just aches from all he’d been through. I also love Reese. She was a fun one but what I admire the most about her is the tenacity she showed when things hit rock bottom. She didn’t give up and fought for what she wanted no matter how much it hurt her.

I was expecting a grander ending. Well, the epilogue gave a few good laughs however I was expecting to see more developments not only from Reese and Chase but also from the other characters. I was interested in Sam and Owen. They weren’t just side characters. They were vital in making Chase and Reese the persons they are today. This was not just their story and I’m kind of hoping for a short story or novella with marriage and babies on the horizon.

Read: September 12, 2016

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

