Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Tru Blue by Melissa Foster

Tru Blue

tru-blue

*free copy in exchange for an honest review*

FIVE TRUE STARS!!!

After spending six years in prison, Truman Gritt was faced again to protect his family. When his mother overdosed, Tru steps in to take care of the siblings he never knew existed. Except for his little brother, Quincy, who was lured to their mother’s lifestyle. Gemma Wright came to their lives despite Tru’s reservations in accepting help from strangers. They came from different side of tracks but when it comes to the matters of heart they’re on even ground. Could they trust each other enough to do right by each other and their kids?

“I don’t want to lose you, and I don’t want to lose them. Don’t ask me to make that choice.”

THIS BOOK MADE ME CRY LIKE A BABY!

I never expected to love this book so much. I thought it would be a good read to pass time between breaks at work but once I started I couldn’t put it down. There were no boring parts, no wasted words, it was all straightforward. I feel like I was holding my breath through the whole story because I was waiting for the other shoe to drop. I was most curious how they’ll work once things started to go south.

Truman seemed too good to be true. He knows loyalty, honesty and compassion regardless of his horrific past. I couldn’t find a significant flaw that would really be a deal breaker. Don’t get me wrong, he made mistakes but Tru redeemed himself all over again. Seeing him with his sibling just breaks my heart all over again. I love that he never gave up on them (meaning Quincy) and continue believing and loving them. I truly feel for Gemma. She came from money but her childhood proved that money couldn’t buy happiness. I actually liked her character. She was not a cliché heroine. She was not the helpless damsel but not a badass either. She’s somewhere in between and could be irritating as hell but her genuine goodness reeled me in.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book is that Tru and Gemma fell too fast. They only knew each other for like two days and they already have this connection. Although, I admire Tru’s courage and honesty before things progress too fast. I just couldn’t comprehend how could you bare your soul to someone you just met. Despite all of this, this book is still a favorite. I’m even considering on reading Melissa Foster’s book… even though she already published tons! 😉

Read: October 14, 2016

Rating: 5 Stars

2 thoughts on “Tru Blue by Melissa Foster”

  1. I am actually trying to get a copy in pdf but can’t seem to find. M so anxious to read this book. I mean a guy leaves jail to which he went to innocent and then still has the decency to look after his young siblings . I so want this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

