Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Deal Breakers by Laura Lee

Deal Breakers

deal-breakers

This is your typical story of bestfriends falling in love with each other. Riley McIntyre is your usual gorgeous specimen of a womanizer. Until he met Devyn Summers. He wants her but all she wanted and needed was friendship after suffering such loss. Four years into college and they were inseparable. Before starting their new lives in different states to follow their dreams, Devyn wants one thing from Riley. She wants him to sleep with her. Sex with no strings attached or whatsoever. After that, things would go back to where they belong. Except, that didn’t happen. Hearts were broken. Lives were changed. And a secret was buried. Five years later, they have to face the past as they see each other for the first time since that fateful night.

I was intrigued by the synopsis. I’ve read books like this before but I was hoping for a different execution of the climax and conclusion. I was also excited to meet Riley. It wouldn’t hurt to add another name to my list of book boyfriends. I admit that I was surprised by Devyn’s character. She was not at all what I was expecting and I loved it! There were times that she feels insecure like every other heroine I’ve read but it was so seldom that it only adds appeal to her character.

I’d consider this book as light-read. I wasn’t able to feel raw emotions coming from the characters. I didn’t like that their college years were so compressed into a couple of chapters only. It was a little hard to feel their bond as bestfriends. I think the book was a little fast-paced also because I had a hard time pointing where the climax is. One minute I was starting this book and the next I was on the last page. Well, I’m hoping for a novella though!

Read: January 2, 2016

Rating: 3 Stars

Leave a Reply

