Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult

Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Cursed

cursed

High school student Ember McWilliams died in a car accident but her gifted little sister brought her back… but with grave consequences. Everything she touches dies. Enter, Hayden Cromwell. The promise of controlling her own powers enough to be able to touch her sister was too great, Ember decided to put their faith in Hayden and his father’s hand. But even in the midst of others with powers like her, Ember finds it hard to trust anyone. Harder still when it became obvious that someone wants her dead. Someone wants to finish what was started the ‘accident’ that killed her.

“You worry about hurting me, but you never seem to worry about me hurting you. And I’m the one with the killer touch.”

At first, I had reservations in reading this book. Ember was like Rogue in X-Men which took originality points from me. I thought it would be a predictable plot line where Hayden would be the knight shinning armor who would save Ember in her lonely existence. However, there were more things involved in the story. The ‘car accident’ started it all and there were secrets that need to be unearthed and bad guys to catch.

I truly love JLA’s writings. Her heroines always had that sarcastic, witty side that cracks me up. Ember may have dealt a bad hand but she’s not broken. She wasn’t selfish to mop all day but find strength in taking responsibility of her little sister. Hayden Cromwell is exactly what you expect from a hero. Gorgeous and beautiful and funny… and in love with our dear Ember. He had a way with words. I couldn’t help but smile and blush in all the right pages.

I truly love this book but I think it ended rather abruptly. I was expecting an ending with more ‘wow’ or ‘boom’ factor. There were still things that needed answers. I want more history, more data in their powers. And if would be just a standalone I think the world building was rushed a bit… but I would complain if there’ll be a few books in the future. *wink* *wink*

Read: September 22, 2013

Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

