Contemporary Romance, Erotica, New Adult

The Fall Up Duet by Aly Martinez

TFU

The Fall Up

TFU1

Levee Williams was a famous celebrity. Her voice brought her fame she never expected. Her life was not entirely her own under the scrutiny of media. Leevee Williams wanted to jump off the bridge and die… but she met Sam Rivers. Gorgeous and tattooed Sam saved her life in their every conversation. Like her, he’s hiding secrets that led him to that bridge. Could they save each other from falling? Or would they be torn apart yet again?

“There isn’t a woman in the world who doesn’t have demons of some sort. No matter who I end up with, it’s always going to be a struggle.” I kissed her hair again, letting it linger as if my lips were able to transfer the truth of my words. “Levee, I’d like to struggle with you.”

Aly Martinez is a new author for me, so I went in blind with this book. I don’t have any expectations at all. But I was hoping for a good read. I love her writing style. The story is unique. I just love how detailed and comprehensive it is. The words really come alive with her characters. The characters gave different impacts on different parts of the story. There was love, hate, hopelessness and redemption.

I was always a sucker for tortured souls so it wasn’t a surprise that I loved Levee and Sam from the start. They both carry the burden of their painful pasts and it was a struggle for them to move on. I love that despite how cliché it is that they would ‘heal each other’s souls and fall in love’, their story is still captivating. I also love the banter! Playful and witty banters are always a win. However, it felt a bit unfinished for me. From all they’ve been through, I want a different ending. I mean, I love what happened but I want more. I wanted to see more of their lives after everything.

Oh, and I just love Henry. He was like sunshine in Levee’s life, and I can’t wait for his book!

Read: December 11, 2015

Rating: 4 Stars

The Spiral Down

TFU2

Despite being famous in the music industry, Henry Alexander can’t find someone to spend life with. He was surrounded by people all the time but none that called to him. Until he met Captain Evan Roth that faithful night. They’re both afraid of committing but too weak to resist the undeniable chemistry between them. Could Evan open himself up to be love or hurt? Would Henry take the risk of falling?

“This doesn’t make you gay … It just makes you mine.”

Aly Martinez did it again!

I love this one better than the first! First off, it was probably because Henry and Evan spent more time together (physically or otherwise). There problems weren’t as deep as Levee and Sam’s which makes me breathe a little easier. I was able to enjoy it more without waiting for the other shoe to drop. They had their own issues to deal with but there were more fun times than the broody parts.

I mentioned in the previous book that I loved Henry. He was such a flamboyant character and I’m happy that we were able to see more sides of him. I was just so frustrated with why he ran from Evan. His excuses were beyond unreasonable. I really didn’t expect that from Henry. Add that fact that I didn’t like how it took doing this thing for him to run like hell. Anyway, I just adore Evan. I understood why he was so hesitant in falling in love again. His painful experience with love was so heartbreaking. I admire that he was so tenacious once he admit his feelings to himself.

This is not my first rodeo in M/M romance… but I think this is tame in comparison. Don’t get me wrong, there were lots of foreplay that were just beyond hot. Their chemistry was off the charts and I love them both. However, this thing that I mentioned really turned me off because of where Henry’s head was going. Thankfully, I loved that ending which added a point-five in my rating.

Read: May 29, 2016

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

