Contemporary Romance, Fantasy

Unchained by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Unchained

Unchained

As a demon-hunter, Lily Marks shouldn’t have a problem with eliminating Julian. But when a traitor is amidst the Sanctuary, Lily became the prime suspect for her association with Julian. Their quest in proving her innocence opened up dark truths and secrets that would change history as she knew it. Could Lily find the real traitor before she loses everything? Or would her growing feelings for Julian destroy it all?

“It was like a date–a weird, twisted date that would probably end with them killing something.”

I love this book! It has a different concept of Nephilim from what I’ve read in the past and I always welcome new ideas. I admit that I read and liked this because its JLA… and angels. But I was so surprise by how much book hangover I had with this one. I think it took me two weeks to read a new book. Anyway, JLA created a brilliant new world. It was different, exciting and daring. This book is not something you read every day.

I love Lily. She’s reminds me of JLA’s other badass heroines but still a bit different. I absolutely adore Julian! Gah, this man is just so sexy, so sweet, so freaking perfect! I love him for Lily. They’re both so badass and crazy. I think they’ll actually balance out each other. It’s a bit of a cliché to have the forbidden romance of good versus evil but this story is much more that. JLA managed to bring magic into the story that tells the story wonderfully.

I thought this would be a series but it has been years since this was published… so I think it would be a standalone? Until JLA decided to continue it, that is. But I’m still hoping for a sequel, that ending deserves one!

Read: September 22, 2013

Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

