Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

Don’t Hate the Player… Hate the Game by Katie Ashley

Don’t Hate the Player, Hate the Game

Don't Hate the Player, Hate the Game

For their senior year, Noah Sullivan wasn’t supposed to lose his best friend, Jake Nelson. They’ve been in each other’s lives since kindergarten. No one knew Jake best but Noah… or at least he thought. Finding a half-carat platinum ring in Jake’s things definitely changed things. Who is the girl? Is Jake hiding more secrets? Does Noah really know his best friend?

“You’ve been my beacon of light in my storm of grief, and I don’t know if I could live without you.”

I absolutely adore Katie Ashley! Her writing style tells great love stories and tragedies. You could almost feel the grief coming from these characters. Such love lost and found in this book. I thought I wouldn’t like the cliché of getting-your-dead-best-friend’s-girl but Jake, Noah and Maddie’s love story is different. I think the cliché part is actually the bad-boy-falling-for-the-good-girl.

Is it weird to say that I missed Jake? From Noah and Maddie’s memories, I liked to hate Katie Ashley for killing him. He was such a good friend albeit an asshole to most. He was changing and his life was cut short too soon. I liked Noah’s character. Despite being the side-kick of the most popular guy in school, he’s still a nice person. He seems to balance out Jake’s craziness. Maddie is too perfect for my taste. Or maybe, I just envy her. She’s got the brains and the beauty… and the boys.

I didn’t like the major fight-and-make-up part of the story. It was so predictable and common. Oh, but I love the ending! It was so sweet and swoon-worthy. But it kind of made me sad too because Jake missed all of it. *sigh*

Read: December 30, 2013

Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

