Suspense, Thriller

Sixty Minute Reads Series by Dave Johnston

SMR

Atomic Number Sixty

SMR1

*ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review*

You could do a lot of things in one hour. You could regret your wrong decisions in sixty minutes or else. You could reminisce the simple, mundane things in your life. You could imagine all the could’ves and should’ves. You could read Holly Holloway last sixty minutes on Earth.

What would come to pass … if you knew you only had one hour of life left to live?

I was truly intrigue by the sixty chapters in sixty minutes, and I loved it! It was so different from what I usually read. I love the story line. It was fast paced but clear and concise. The whole idea behind it all was just brilliant. I found Holly’s character interesting. There were different sides of her that we saw depending on who she’s with. She could be loving daughter, fun and supportive cousin, smart-ass bitch and cynical in her darkest hour.

I would’ve given it a perfect star rating but the ending is a bit predictable to me. There were clues that I easily picked up, so I was able to guess correctly. I was expecting an unexpected ending that would bring more impact, more feels to the story. Nonetheless, this series is too good to pass. I can’t wait for the next one!

Read: August 17, 2016

Rating: 4 Stars

Massacre of the Sixty

SMR2

*ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review*

Holly Holloway survived what we thought was her last sixty minutes like a ticking bomb. Her next assignment is to stop “The Hollow Falx”, a fight to death match between sixty people in sixty minutes. Could Holly save the lives of these sixty people? Or would this be a massacre that would mark the history?

This sequel in Holly’s journey took an interesting turn. I was shocked when I first read this line in the synopsis, “Massacre of the Sixty attracts only the depraved and psychotic..”. But that didn’t stop me. I was absolutely curious on the massive change in the story line. You have to watch out for every detail because it would give you a clue that isn’t really spoilery (for me) but in a fun way. Dave Johnston was really smart to warn readers that this is not for the faint of heart. Or you could just read this when the sun is shining bright to get some sleep at night.

I actually enjoyed this book even if I’m not much fan of all gorey stuffs. It was new and I think it was such a step-up from Holly’s adventure in the previous book. I had my doubts at first because I don’t think Dave Johnston’s writing style could fit the story portrayed by the synopsis. But I loved it!  There was more action and mysteries and I couldn’t wait for the next one. I think the next book would reveal some of the questions left unanswered. *crossed fingers*

Read: December 1, 2016

Rating: 4 Stars

1 thought on “Sixty Minute Reads Series by Dave Johnston”

Leave a Reply

