Fantasy, New Adult, Romance

The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon

The Bird and the Sword

The Bird and The Sword

In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left.

Moments before Lark’s mother took her last breaths, she prophesized four things. One, she wouldn’t speak again. Two, if she died so will her father. Third, the king will lose his soul. Last, the prince will be lost to the sky. Years had passed and Lark’s still trapped from her mother’s words and her father’s greed, could Lark be anything but a prisoner?

You chose me because I am of use. But I chose you because I wanted you. All I ever wanted was for you to love me in return.

It took me a long time to find the courage to read this. I’ve loved Amy Harmon’s book but this one was different. But then I’ve read raving reviews and two of my best friends read and love it, so I gave it a go. And I just love it! I love the WORDS. It’s poetry on its own. It was thrilling, romantic and so very captivating, I couldn’t put it down!

I love the characters. I love Lark’s perseverance and loyalty. She’s a strong woman despite everything she’s been through as a child. I was so frustrated at Tiras in the beginning because it was so obvious that he’s using Lark for her gifts… but they’re little moments together just brought all the feels. They’re love story is just so heartbreaking.

I guessed who’s the villain was so there’s no surprise when that character reappeared. I also had suspicions with this character, so when this character showed betrayal, I didn’t share the same feelings as our heroine. But I love how it all turned out in the end. The epilogue was bittersweet, I got a bit teary-eyed. So here’s to four-point-five stars!

Read: July 7, 2016

Rating: 4.5 Stars

2 thoughts on “The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon”

Leave a Reply

