Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

Saving June by Hannah Harrington

Saving June

Saving June

The last thing Harper Scott should’ve done after the funeral was to take June’s ashes and road trip across the coast with her bestfriend and a guy she barely know, who gave her sister a CD. But she couldn’t just let her parents divide her sister’s ashes between themselves. She couldn’t let her sister be trapped in a jar. Harper had to set her free in California, where she always wanted to go.

I think. Some people are just sad, all of the time. Too sad to deal with—everything. Life, I guess. I don’t know. There doesn’t always have to be a reason.”

Saving June is a YA romance that would make readers laugh and fall in love despite how it started. This book is better than what I expected it to be, and I expected a lot. It’s not a typical story you read every day. It showed how love can come from different forms and people. I love that it started with tragedy then finding silver linings along the way.

I love how Harper discovered new and more important things in life. The death of her sister seemed to be the catalyst she needed to get a broader perspective. They’re both so young and there’s a whole world out there. I also love her friendship with Laney. Their bond is so strong… and impulsive. I can’t help but fall for Jake Tolan. His taste in music caught me from the very beginning. It was a relief to finally know his true connection with June. And I love how it ended. It’s make me think that it’s really just the start of something wonderful.

P.S. You’ll love the soundtracks at the end!

Read: July 25, 2014

Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

