Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

The Unexpected Everything

The Unexpected Everything

Alexandra ‘Andie’ Walker was supposed to be off to The Young Scholars Program but the scandal behind his father’s name messed things up. She found herself being in the same house as his father, accepting a job she never thought she’d have, hanging out with her three best friends and meeting a boy that makes her break her no more than three weeks relationship. Could Andie survive the summer after love, hope, lies and betrayals weave its way to her heart?

This book is so good; it was like Morgan Matson’s first three books rolled into one. I can see the father and daughter relationship from Second Chance Summer. The friendship of the foursome reminds me of how strong Emily and Sloane’s friendship was in Since You’ve Been Gone. Lastly, the love between Andie and her significant other made me think of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and how innocent love can be.

I love Andie’s character (even if she doesn’t read books). She made me want to tear my hair out when she started fucking things up but I still loved her. I am not a dog person but I had fun with her interactions with them especially Bertie. That poor, poor dog. I had a hard time liking Clark because he’s just too good to be true, you know. My golly, this guy was like a unicorn, a perfect boyfriend. I’m totally crushing on Topher. He’s just not what I assumed a senator’s son would be. I expected a spoiled brat but he’s really a nice guy.

My favorite parts include the scene where Andie dropped off Miss Cupcakes and we discovered a great reveal. I truly feel for Bri. I was mad at first but then she didn’t do it because she was mean and doesn’t have care to other’s feelings. I also love the talk in the campaign bus. My gosh, I was so torn! The ending was so bittersweet for me. I want them to make-up but at the same time I want them to take a break and grow up without each other.

Read: July 2, 2016

Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

