Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Ruin Series by Rachel Van Dyken

Ruin

Ruin

Ruin1

FIVE RUINING STARS!!!

Freshmen college student Kiersten Rowe meets Weston Michels. The basics are pretty much there. Kiersten is the new girl, goody-two-shoes, like the rest of other heroines who doesn’t believe they’re truly beautiful inside and out and constantly fights their inner demons alone. Wes is the popular football quarterback. He’s also insanely hot and nice and funny and rich. Seriously, this guy is perfect but he’s also hiding something big. This story will not fail to make you laugh, cry, and cry some more.

“Wherever I am, whatever I’m doing, alive or dead, young or old, my heart will always be with yours. Every beat you feel against your fingertips…” His fingers tapped against my chest, once, twice. “… is me calling out to you. It’s you returning the call. It’s us talking, communicating, bonding, sharing, Living–Kiersten, it’s us living.”

One of my best reads for 2014!!! It was so beautiful, I cried. I ignored the prologue. I mean, I read it but I didn’t give it much thought because I thought its nothing. I really thought it wouldn’t have any bearing to the story. I thought it’s just ‘bait’ for readers to be interested in reading this. I was so, so wrong. So, I cried. This is one of the gut-wrenching stories you would never regret reading.

This was so different from the books I’ve read in a sense that their love story barely touches the physical level of intimacy. Which in my opinion, makes it even better. It was so beautifully written that even though you could guess what’s going to happen, it would still break your heart. I’ve had clues from hearing my friends fangirl over it and it still made me bawl like a baby. As Filipino expression goes, “Ang sakit sa puso.

Read: January 29, 2014

Rating: 5 Stars

Toxic

Ruin2

RACHEL VAN DYKEN STIRKES AGAIN!!!

After seeing how close his friend, Weston Michels, came to death, Gabe Hyde was turning over a new leaf. No more one night stands and drinking till the sun goes down. To protect his most shameful secret, Gabe’s willing to do anything because he can’t fail her again. Until he met Saylor. The girl who manage to consume every breath and thought. Was he willing to give it all up to guard his precious secret? Or will he brave the wrath of the world to find his redemption?

“Watching someone you love go through difficult times is like being in your own body but paralyzed. You want to yell at them, scream, help them, but your body won’t move, and you know that no matter how hard you try, in the end, the path is theirs to choose. You can’t choose for them.”

This book just destroyed me. God, I don’t know how Ms. Van Dyken do this. Hands down, one of the best love stories with the best tragedies. It just keeps on getting better and better which really just break the hearts of readers out there. I don’t know how many times I cried but I loved it. It was a perfect combination of good and bad kind of hurt.

There came a point that I actually shipped Gabe and Kiersten… which I found disturbing later on because they act like brothers and sisters. Anyway, I love Gabe and Saylor together. I love how strong they are. I love that despite everything, and really there’s a lot of people going against them, they got the happy ending they deserved. They didn’t only break our hearts and make us fall in love but they also made us laugh. It might not be a life and death story like in Ruin, but our dear characters didn’t escape without a scratch from their own tragedies. It is a matter of how they stood up and lived.

Read: March 6, 2014

Rating: 5 Stars

Fearless

Ruin2.5

Their love story has been told. They’ve suffered and came out victors. Now, Weston Michels will finally make an honest woman out of Kiersten Rowe.

“You stopped my heart the day I met you, re-started it, and gave it a new rhythm. You are my heart.”

It was a perfect wedding. I even shed more tears. Gah, seriously I thought I was done with tears because this is it, they’re gonna be fucking married. But it’s so beautiful. I really wanted to give this a perfect five star rating but I guess Wes’ monologue and life altering advice is a little over the top. I mean, it makes me swoon because I’ve never encountered a guy that smooth and eloquent. It’s just a little hard to imagine a guy saying all those thing.

However, I love Lisa’s POVs because we’re gonna have her story too! I’m so excited. It’s looks so mysterious and it’s making me so curious. (Huh, it rhymes.) Shame is gonna hit our shelves!

Read: March 12, 2014

Rating: 4 Stars

Shame

Ruin3

The world now knows that Melanie Faye is alive and hiding in plain sight as sophomore college student, Lisa. When the ghost of her past came knocking, Lisa doesn’t know who to ask for help. Her friends are now starting to live a happy life after all the heartbreaks and she wouldn’t want to be a burden. Add the fact that there’s really something with her hot new professor, Dr. Tristan Blake, which sets her emotions high and dry. Would Lisa be successful in fighting her demons to keep her past and secret safe? Or would it destroy her once again?

“Protecting someone by lying about who you really are isn’t protecting. It’s the most selfish thing you can do, because, in the end, you’re still not giving a hundred percent to the person who deserves it the most. Please let me go.”

I was so sick of forbidden student-professor relationship. There are some books that could pull it off but Tristan didn’t really do it for me. I was not impress with his relationship with Lisa. He was a freaking professor and he was not punished for having a relationship with a student because he’s got lots of money. I’m also disappointed to really know Lisa’s character. She was so different from the Lisa we know in the past books. I was expecting for her to be stronger because she’s been through a lot and it just showed how it broke her. Years had passed and she wasn’t able to get help and be better.

I love the synopsis. It was intriguing to say the least. And with Ruin and Toxic, it truly sets my expectation high. I don’t know what happened, but I was disappointed. It wasn’t the story I expected. The plot twist was unexpected which really saved the book for me. But all the rest are like jumbled pieces of puzzle that just wouldn’t fit.

Read: October 11, 2014

Rating: 3 Stars

Leave a Reply

