Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Sky is Everywhere

TSIE

Book worm and band geek Lennie Walker acts as a shadow behind her older sister’s spotlight, Bailey. That is until Bailey died. Drowning with grief, Lennie found herself in a situation between two guys. One of whom mirrors the pain and sorrow she’s feeling–Toby Shaw (Bailey’s boyfriend). And the other one is fresh from France that makes her feel better than any melody ever played–Joe Fontaine. Will Lennie make the right choice in the matters of her heart? Or will she look back and regret every decision she made thereafter?

“That’s a misconception, Lennie. The sky is everywhere, it begins at your feet.”

Gah, one of the greatest stories ever written!!!

This is one of those stories that is so good you’re smiling after reading it even if it’s not rainbows and butterflies throughout the story. I love all the characters. They’re all so clever, so funny and they brought out different Lennies. I love that they’re all so interconnected that one move affects them all. Even if they didn’t make smart choices all the time, they’re all good people.

Some may cringe when reading the synopsis that Lennie finds herself in a love triangle. This is not a conventional love triangle. It’s a love story with no villain. Like I said, they’re all good people here. In the end, it’s a matter of how you really look at it. I love Joe. It never crossed my mind to ship Lennie and Toby, I was always Team Joe. Anyway, Joe is a very interesting character. He was not what I was expecting. I thought he’ll be a cocky bastard and that bad boy persona will attract Lennie. I’m so very happy to be proven wrong. I cannot contain the feels for these two!

I love the poems. I didn’t even guess what the purpose of where those poems were written is. It was so brilliant! I had goose bumps even if it’s all so sweet. I want more of these characters. Even if it’s just a short story.

Welp, there you go. Go grab a copy, I promise you wouldn’t regret reading it!

Read: June 12, 2014

Rating: 5 Stars

 

Leave a Reply

