Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

A Different Blue by Amy Harmon

A Different Blue

A Different Blue

Blue Echohawk has been dealt a shitty hand. She has no mother or father and the only parent she ever came close to have died when she was a kid. In her last year in high school, Blue encountered a problem that her smart mouth and horrible attitude couldn’t handle. Little did she know that her history professor, Mr. Darcy Wilson, will be the catalyst that will change her life for better or for worse.

One of the best things I love in all Amy Harmon’s novels is learning new things. I love the history and carving lessons.  It was never just your average love story of boy meets girl and they lived happily ever after.

“I keep wishing you had had a better life… a different life. But a different life would have made you a different Blue.” He looked at me then. “And that would be the biggest tragedy of all.”

I love Blue. I love how she grew up right before our eyes. She tried so hard to be the bad guy. She made mistakes but she eventually learned from them and turned out to be a better person. She became her own kind of person despite how lost she was in the beginning. And I just admire how selfless she was when it counted. I love Wilson too, even if he’s just too perfect for me to swallow.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book of Amy Harmon that I didn’t love. However, I wish Ms. Harmon took a different route in introducing Blue and Wilson instead of a student-professor setting. I find it kind of cliché since a lot of books now are into that. I’m also not satisfied with how the story ended. The second to the last chapter invoked a lot of intense emotions. I think it was too soon to end the story because it was difficult to process all the happenings. I would’ve been more happy with an Epilogue though.

Read: December 1, 2014

Rating: 4 Stars

1 thought on “A Different Blue by Amy Harmon”

Leave a Reply

