Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult

Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

TOG

Assassin’s Blade

TOG0.5

I’ve been advised by my dear friend to continue on the series before reading these novellas. It’s still up to you, but in my experience it truly helped going in blind. I read the first three novels first before diving into these novellas. It makes the feels more intense than the last. Assassin’s Blade is a compilation of the five novellas, all set before the first book, Throne of Glass.

The Assassin and The Pirate Lord features Celaena Sardothein and Sam Cortland’s adventure in Dead Islands to extract retribution in the form of gold to Captain Rolfe for killing three assassins. This book showed Celaena before slaving in the mines and I love it! It was exactly as I imagined her to be, so badass and so arrogant. It was also a sight to meet Sam!!! He’s been mentioned multiple times in TOG novels, and I love what I’m seeing so far. Even if I have a different ship, I can’t deny I’m feeling lots of feels between these two.

The Assassin and The Healer follows Celaena alone after facing the consequences of her actions in the Dead Islands. Here she met a true healer and helped her as one assassin can help by killing people. This novella shows how little magic was left after the King of Adarlan. We’ll be able to see the soft sides of the most notorious assassin of Erilea.

The Assassin and The Desert shows Celaena’s adventure to the Red Desert where the Silent Assassins reside. This adventure was vaguely mentioned in one of the TOG novels and I’m glad to have the full story! It’s a bit mystifying seeing Celaena act as a girl. I was so used to her badass persona that I forget sometimes that she’s still a young one.

The Assassin and The Underworld trails the return of Celaena in the household of Arobynn. This would probably the ‘peak’, the point where Celaena finally saw for what Arobynn is. There were so many little white lies and betrayals. This novella would also be the bridge for Sam and Celaena. And the feels of these two is just ASDFGHJKL. I love how innocent they were despite their profession. There love was so pure, it will finally have a chance to blossom.

The Assassin and The Empire leads up to the capture of Celaena and the death of one close to her heart. This is probably the most heartbreaking of all the novellas. They were finally able to live and love without danger breathing down their necks but it all came to an end too soon. It’s just so unfair. I understand that her fate was to be captured but why Sam? *sobs inconsolably*

Read: December 21, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Throne of Glass

TOG1

After two years of slaving away in the prison mines of Endovier, the most notorious assassin Celaena Sardothein has been summoned by Prince Dorian to defeat twenty-three skilled killers/thieves/warriors in order to be the King’s champion. In return, she would be granted freedom. But something evil starts killing her opponents one by one. What begins as a fight for freedom became her quest to vanquish the evil set to destroy their world.

I’ve been meaning to read TOG for a year now but I don’t know what happened for it to be so at the bottom of my to-read pile. Thankfully, a dear friend of mine didn’t fail to badger me to read it. Gosh, what a waste it would’ve been not to read this book! Seriously, I love this magical world.

“I name you Elentiya.” She kissed the assassin’s brow. “I give you this name to use with honour, to use when other names grow too heavy. I name you Elentiya, ‘Spirit That Could Not Be Broken.”

I love Celaena. I’ve always loved badass heroines. They’re so confident bordering on arrogance. And it makes all the adventures and battles much more exciting! I also like that she’s still kind of a brat… it’s like the slave mines didn’t beat it out of her. That she’s still the Celaena Sardothein they’ve feared and hated. I fell in love with Chaol. Whenever he suppresses his expression just makes me laugh so much. He’s adorable like that. Prince Dorian didn’t really do it for me. I find him so delicate sometimes. Like if real tragedy strikes he wouldn’t be able act immediately. I even love Nehemia. I like how she ‘acted’ like a princess. She’s like a ray of sunshine in Celaena’s life.

I would love to give this a five-star rating but I didn’t like how Celaena started and ended her relationship with that character. It looks like she played him because she was just so callous afterward. Anyway, I have my own ship but I don’t want to spoil you, so I’m not gonna say anything more!

Read: December 14, 2015

Rating: 4 Stars

Crown of Midnight

TOG2

Once an assassin, Celaena Sardothein now serves the King of Adarlan as his Champion–the one who silence those who betrays the throne. Little did they know that Celaena bowed to no one. But her charade is on the verge of being discovered when her next task led her to rebels claiming to aid the lost heir of Terrasen, Aelin Galathynius. It is a battle of minds and hearts as Celaena tries to survive betrayal, secrets and deaths coming her way.

“I worry because I care. Gods help me, I know I shouldn’t, but I do. So I will always tell you to be careful, because I will always care what happens.”

WHY MUST YOU DO THIS?!

I cried. I sobbed. I wailed.

My heart can’t take this. You know that feeling when your ship was sailing then suddenly a storm appeared out of nowhere, then a whirlwind materializes and lastly a tsunami blasted the shit out of your ship? And all you have left is tiny little pieces with no hope of putting it all back together? That’s how I felt after reading this book. I felt so betrayed. I can’t believe this is happening to our precious characters.

I’ve guessed who Aelin is. I guessed that this character will betray them. I even guessed that this character will die. But come on! Isn’t all these enough for one book? You couldn’t spare our hearts by NOT putting Celaena and Chaol through that? My gosh, I feel like I’ve been reading for forever because things just wouldn’t quit. It was like bomb after bomb were exploding. I just want a HEA… is that too much to ask?

Read: December 15, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Heir of Fire

TOG3

Celaena has endured unspeakable physical and emotional pains for the sake of love and prestige. This time she was sent to Wendlyn to kill the royal family. Not just any royal family, but the Ashryver line. This is not an ordinary quest in King’s orders because she’s becoming closer to her very dark past. Will Celaena continue to run away from her responsibilities or finally embrace the living beast inside her?

I love the new characters, especially Aedion and Rowan. Rowan is being so damn persuasive… he makes me want to change ships. Little fact about me: I’ve always found Faes intriguing. There’s just something about them that I find so irresistible. So don’t be surprised if by the end of the series I’m no longer a holder of Chaolaena fanclub bagde. I also love Aedion. All the things he did and bear under the King’s rule was just too much. God, a lot of people really did suffer from the King of Adarlan. I also love how Celaena, Chaol and Dorian grew right before our eyes. They had a lot of epiphanies and ‘soul-searching’ to stand by their decisions and fight for what is right.

“She had awoken this morning and slipped the amethyst ring off her finger. It had felt liked a blessed release, a final shadow lifted from her heart.”

I see a pattern happening here. I think Ms. Sarah was purposely letting our characters to have their victories but in the last three or so chapters something will happen that will just break the hearts of all readers. Seriously, I was feeling well relaxed after they defeated the bad guy but on the other side of the world blood is being spilled. I can’t take a break!

Read: December 18, 2015

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Queen of Shadows

TOG4

Aelin Galathynius is alive and ready to take back everything the King of Adarlan has taken from her. But Adarlan is no longer the same as she left it. Valg were roaming the streets. Her cousin is charged by treason and awaiting his death trial. Her friend, Prince Dorian, is being enslaved by a Valg Prince. Her once lover, the Captain of the Guard, is now aiding the rebels. And Arobynn Hamel is once again sniffing out Celaena Sardothein. All this she must embark upon with a heavy heart for missing her strongest ally, Prince Rowan Whitethorn. Can the fire breathing Queen succeed in unleashing magic and reclaiming her throne?

MIND. FUCK.

That ending, that revelation behind the King’s corruption of black magic really did me in. I didn’t even have inkling about it! Every turn of page, every damn chapter you have to hold your breath because it might be the character’s last. My mind is going crazy because this book defeats any book out there with plot twist. I don’t know what to believe anymore. I don’t know how I can survive months before having the fifth book in our hands. I can only imagine the patience of those who have been with the series since the beginning.

“She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”

I don’t think whole series did anything but break my heart. Seriously, it was like the Chaolaena ship was being tear down piece by piece and there was nothing we could do. *sobs uncontrollably* However, new ships will be formed and surprisingly I fell in love with them too! I’m happy for them to find happiness they deserve and finally a HEA. I thought I was imagining things when I finished the book. I was actually waiting for the other shoe to drop but yay for us because they live happily ever after… until we have the fifth book, that is.

I’m actually shipping Aedion and Lysandra. Weird huh? But I love them for each other!

Read: December 22, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Empire of Storms

TOG5

After defeating the King of Adarlan and freeing magic, Aelin Galathynius returns to Terrasen only to find her new court turned away to prove her ability to be the rightful Queen. Aelin would do anything for Terrasen and that includes calling all favors across the seas to defeat Erawan. New alliance and enemies will emerged and Aelin would soon realize how much she has to sacrifice not only for those she loves and Terrasen but for the whole world.

Sarah J. Maas is the master of plot twists. Seriously, this woman writes just to torture us readers. We only have one book left and I don’t know what will happen! I’ve given up trying to form theories because this woman just bulldozes the shits out of them. I don’t want any of the main characters to die but a part of me does just to give the most heartbreaking feels for the last book. *inserts evil laugh* I just want to applaud Sarah J. Maas for creating another masterpiece that left readers wanting for more.

“Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen, knew the time would soon come to prove just how much she’d bleed for Erilea.”

HOW COULD YOU DO THIS?!

I knew it. I knew something bad will happen after that beautiful ending in Queen of Shadows. I just didn’t expect how bad things would be. I had so much frustrations with Elide, Elena and (surprise, surprise) Nehemia for all the grief they gave to Aelin. Despite how badass Aelin can be, the love she had for her friends, family and court was her biggest downfall. It was a weakness that shone like a beacon for her enemies to attack.

There were ships that were finally happening and one pairing I never expected. I don’t want to spoil anyone but I’m loving him. I’m such a sucker for the disturbed and tortured ones. We’ll also be meeting more of Rowan’s cadre and I’m liking Fenrys. I totally love his inappropriate sense of humor in between gloomy situations. Seeing the visitors from the past gave me the chills and made me realize that every character in this series held a significant role for the story.

“Even when this world is a forgotten whisper of dust between the stars, I will always love you.”

And my ship, my BLOODY ship! This book is so mixed feels for Rowaelin shippers. They finally read the bed, so to speak. Some found it gross, I call it sexy as fuck. What’s wrong with people?! Anyway, after everything they’ve done just so they could stand a chance in this war, Maeve went and fuck everything to oblivion. I hate that bitch, die die die already!

I think we could all agree that that ending just broke everyone. I cried for Aelin and Rowan because their love was fabricated to be doomed from the beginning. I cried for Lorchan because the short happiness and love he felt was suddenly ripped viciously. I cried for Aedion and Lysandra because of the responsibilities forced to them by this war could affect their love.

Also, have I mentioned that I want Maeve dead? I have? Oh well, I really want that bitch dead.

Read: September 8, 2016

Rating: 5 Stars

 Untitled (ToG #6)

No title, cover, synopsis and release date yet.

I’ll keep you posted!

5 thoughts on “Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas”

Leave a Reply

