Paranormal, Young Adult

The Demon’s Lexicon Trilogy by Sarah Rees Brennan

TDL

The Demon’s Lexicon

TDL1

I’ve heard of Sarah Rees Brennan because of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black. So, I decided to give her books a try and I loved it!

Alan and Nicholas Ryves have been on the run for as long as they can remember with their sometimes lucid, sometimes insane of a mother. Who they’re running from? Magicians. I’m not talking about warlocks or witches. I’m talking about humans who have the touch of magic, summon demons, sacrifices innocent humans and the like. Their main objective is to never draw attention to themselves. Everything’s going fine when they were suddenly attacked in their own home and two strangers came asking for their help. In the midst of this new adventure, lies will be made, secrets will be revealed and love will be lost.

The first few chapters are a little confusing because I haven’t got a hang on who or what they were. I love that the idea of the “love triangle”. I mean, it was not really shown as a major deal in the story because the focus never wavered. It was just tiring to choose over two guys, brothers no less! I admit that there are some parts in the story that I want to hit something because Alan was all Mother Theresa. I was also irritated to Nick because he can’t seem to make up his mind if he liked Mae at all. I don’t like the idea of leading someone on. It hurt like a bitch, I should know. I can’t help but feel a connection with Nick because I was never good at showing my emotions or rather the right emotions to appease people. However, it was all clear in the end why Nick acts the way he is. I love the twist in the end, which eventually showed a deep connection between siblings.

The book is actually so good, I tear up a bit. The idea was so brilliant, I didn’t even guess it! I usually have a feeling on what’s going to happen, and now I can see the subtle (or not so subtle now) clues to the big secret.

Read: April 13, 2014
Rating: 5 Stars

The Demon’s Covenant

TDL2

Mae Crawford thought that when Jamie was finally free from the demon mark, things would go back to normal. But when she saw her brother having a very strange encounter with Gerald, the leader of the Obsidian Circle that endangered Jamie in the first place, she turns to Nick and Alan for help. As it turns out, the brothers were in deep danger with the Circle too. Gerald wants to siphon Nick’s powers for his own gain. With few options left, where would Mae run in order to protect those she cares about against the powerful group of magicians?

If it’s possible to rate this more than five stars, I really would. The feels in this book were like ASDFGHJKL!!! I cannot.  Even if everyone seems to be on the verge of dying or whatever, I still find circumstances to ship Mae and Nick so much!!! These two will surely give me a toothache someday. I feel more and more in love with Nick no matter what he does. He’s just so adorable sometimes that every mistake was immediately forgotten. *sigh* I also love the shift in the relationship between Nick and Alan. The obstacles they’re facing are just challenges that eventually strengthen their bond.

To balance all the happiness this book made me feel, Sarah Rees Brennan didn’t fail to kill off at least one dear character. I don’t think I would ever recover from that. I didn’t expect for that character to be that involve in the battle, let alone die. Gosh, when things were just starting to fall into place… Oh and that little twist in the ending! I love but I also kinda hate it because it was such a cliffhanger! I can’t handle all these feels. This book is just so beautifully written that I never see a thing coming.

Read: April 14, 2014
Rating: 5 Stars

The Demon’s Surrender

TDL3

She was Sin of the Goblin Market. It was her home. But the Market made its stand against the magicians and Sin’s place as the future leader is being threatened by Mae. Add it to the fact that a secret she’s been hiding has been revealed; she was forced to ask the Ryves brothers for help. All is not well in the Ryves household after the battle with the magicians. Alan now carries a demon mark and was being tortured again and again until the magicians get to Nick. Being around Alan made Sin see things in a new light. Could Sin balance her growing feelings for Alan, to winning the Market from Mae and to keep her love ones safe from the Aventurine Circle?

What a thrilling conclusion for an outstanding trilogy!!! I don’t think there was a time that I fall out of love in this trilogy. No matter how broken or betrayed I felt, there is no shaking the feels. I really love Nick. The way he loves his brother is just so perfect, so touching. I don’t know what will become of Nick without Alan… and you wouldn’t want to know. Oh, and the way he and Mae fumbles around each other is just so adorable! I love how steady and controlled Mae is. She’s like a good conductor of stability in Nick’s life.

Let’s not forget about Jamie and Sebastian. There are no words for the sacrifices that Jamie made. He’s just so incredibly brave. He really did grow up. He was so far from the Jamie in The Demon’s Lexicon. I love what kind man he turned out to be. Sebastian also changed a whole lot. I was happy that he finally found the courage to stand up for what he wants, for what is right.

Lastly, Sin and Alan are just perfect for each other. They both deserved their own share of happiness. Though, I personally did not like Sin at first because her character made the already rocky road of Mae and Nick’s relationship rockier. She proved to be a great kind of girl in the end. I love that she not really a selfish person. Sin’s character made huge transitions in the book too. I don’t think Alan would ever change. No matter how little he had to bargain with, he would still protect Nick at all cost. And I love him more for that fact alone. He proved that like Nick, he would not hesitate to cross every line to keep his brother safe.

Read: April 15, 2014
Rating: 4.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

