Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

TSA

Just like The Bane Chronicles, Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy (TSA) consists of the 10 previously published short novellas. TSA will feature Simon Lewis’ transition from being a mundane to a Shadowhunter.

I can’t help but compare this to TBC. I love Magnus, truly I do, but I found a couple of boring stories in TBC. On the other hand, I love all TSA stories. I absolutely adore the ones that featured our dear characters from The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, The Dark Artifices and even The Last Hours. The fact that each short stories were published almost month after month is a big bonus for us readers waiting for The Lady Midnight.

I’m gonna highlight the ones that moved my heart and I would only name three of them.

The Whitechapel Fiend (TSA #3) features a story surrounding Will, Tessa and Jem from TID. It really moved me seeing Will and Tessa being parents and Jem still a Silent Brother. It was kind of sad to see Will age while his two loves remains untouched by time. I think I did a lot of crying in this book because the end of the ‘Jack the Ripper’ story really did a number on me. If I was Tessa or Will I don’t think I could ever sleep without my babies by my side.

Born to Endless Night (TSA #9) I know, I know. I’m being biased, but I’ve been waiting for this book ever since Cassandra Clare tweeted about baby adoption! I really think my ovaries exploded seeing Malec with their baby. My golly. I cannot. And when Simon had a little sneak peak of Malec in a compromising position… Eeeeeek! I have never been jealous of a fictional character so much.

Angels Twice Descending (TSA #10) revealed that someone died and lived in Simon’s Ascension. I really loved this one because it was not only Simon who has come a long way. Even John the asshole seemed to be getting better over his prejudices. They all grew up so much that I almost got teary eyed on their ceremony because it was like watching your babies graduate. But then, I really cried because like I said, someone died. I did not really expect that character to die. But then again, why should I be surprise that Cassandra Clare wouldn’t spare anyone a heartache right?!

So that’s it. That’s my top 3 favorites from the 10 short stories of Simon’s adventure.

Read: November 18, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

