Contemporary Romance, Fantasy, New Adult, Paranormal

Conversion Series by S.C. Stephens

CS

Conversion

CS1

Emma Taylor is living an amazing life… if you ignore the fact that her social life is seriously lacking. Sure, she got a promising career ahead, good friends and wonderful family but every girl needs something to spice things up a bit. That is until Teren Adams literally crashes into her life. Teren Adams was the dashing, handsome young man she bumped into and later dated who turned out to be a little bit of vampire. Committing to a little bit of vampire is no less sacrificial. How far is Emma willing to go for the very same things she’s asked for? Was having Teren in her life worthy of all the things she must give up? Or will she endure going back to her monotonous, pathetic life?

I love the new vampire concept introduced to us by S.C. Stephens. However, this seems a bit similar to the little twist Stephenie Meyer showed to us in The Twilight Saga’s fourth installment. Nonetheless, I love the characters especially Teren and Halina. Teren is just so sweet and gorgeous and… just so freaking perfect. I love him so! And I love how hilarious Halina is! Though she was also extremely protective and such a mother hen it absolutely suits her!

What I found lacking in the book is the feels. For me, the book is a little bit fast-paced because there really was no ‘courting’ involved. I had a hard time seeing the chemistry between them. A professor of mine advised us that when we’ll write a story it is better to show not tell. What I’m saying is that this book is rather descriptive. It prevented the characters from developing a deep bond with the readers. So here goes three-point-five stars to Conversion!

Read: January 19, 2013

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Bloodlines

CS2

Emma Taylor chose to be with Teren Adams and no one, not even death can destroy their love. As they came close to facing death, Emma and Teren were gifted with the knowledge that they would soon be parents. Turns out that before Teren ‘died’, Emma was already on the way of being pregnant. All is well in the Adams household. All Emma has to do was to marry the man she love and live the rest of her human life as long as she wants as she takes care of their children. But life always gets in the damn way. An ex-girlfriend. A rogue vampire. And the ticking time of Emma’s life was hanging the twins’ lives in the balance.

What I truly love about this series is the amazing plot twist. I had trouble guessing whatever’s gonna happen next and that’s a very good thing to keep readers interested. Sadly, the characters’ response to the situations given to them doesn’t really coincide with what I understood from their personalities. I really wanted to give this a higher rating but the way Teren acted was so different from what I know of him. I guess it’s because he’s gonna be a father soon, but I don’t really agree with his decisions and it makes me see him in a different light. The book was so very narrative that it threatens to make me bored. However, I’m truly curious for these characters’ future enough to finish the series because damn, this vampire world really is something.

Read: February 11, 2013

Rating: 3 Stars

‘Til Death

CS3

Happy ending was upon the Adams household. The kids are alive and well, so was Emma. The new alliance with Gabriel’s coven strengthens in time… because of Halina. But things were never that easy in our beloved characters’ lives. The vampire sole responsible for Teren’s early ‘death’ was back, hell bent on exacting his revenge. No one was safe. Gabriel’s lab was the first stop and more lives will be at stake. Would Teren and Emma be able to shield their children from the evil creatures of the night?

This is probably the best book of the series so far! This is the first time in the series that I cried. I could really feel my chest tightening with so much emotion. I have a really soft spot for kids, so when the story reached its climax you could only imagine me sobbing in the corner. God, this book is a roller coaster ride of feels. I love how parental Teren and Emma are. Daddy Teren was sooooooo hot. Definitely a dilf. *wink wink* Emma was a more worry tat now for being a mother and all. The kids were so adorable; I want to squeeze the life out of them, with love of course. I even love the new problems they faced. I loved the new drama. Can you believe it? Me, loving more drama? Ha! This book is that good. It’s not just the life of Teren and Emma with the kids you have to watch out for, but also Gabriel and Halina’s association, Jacen and Starla’s love/hate relationship, Ben and Tracey’s love life faced with ‘vampire problems’ and Ash’s long overdue for a happy ending!

Read: February 23, 2013

Rating: 4.5 Stars

The Next Generation

CS4

Can you believe this? A book of alternate POV of Julian and Nika! After the ‘suppose’ ending of this series, we are gifted to see the lives of our beloved characters again thirteen years from ‘Til Death. What do we have to watch out for? The love lifes of our twins. A mysterious father and son who moved near our vampire family’s home. And of course, the changes that occurred in the thirteen years that passed. Read on as two teenage little bit of vampire stumble their way to the complications they were forced to face at an early age. No one said that high school was easy.

This series just keeps on getting better and better! I just knew it! I don’t think a vampire series could ever disappoint me. Anyway, The Next Generation was such a great surprise because I was so not ready to say goodbye to our beloved characters! There were so many revelations, so many feels, my thoughts were so scattered. I can’t think of a single thing that I didn’t like about this book. I love the new characters, especially Arianna. That girl got spunk. I love how Julian and Nika grew right before our eyes after learning from their mistakes. It was like watching my little duckling walk or swim or whatever little ducklings really learn to do. The Gabriel and Halina feels is like asdfghjkl! Am I the only one shipping these two? They’re like a force of nature that just wouldn’t stop. We need a name, stat! And the ending, oh my God! This is the first major cliffhanger I’ve experienced in your books! How long do we have to wait for the next book? I need it now!

I can’t help but add that Teren just keeps getting hotter and hotter. Seriously, S.C. Stephens what do you give this guy?

Read: October 8, 2013

Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

