Contemporary Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult

Life and Death by Stephenie Meyer

Life and Death

L&D

I’ve been so very busy that a month has passed before I could read this! Are you ready twihards? I know I am. We’ve waited years to see a product of Stephenie Meyer’s writing again.

As a gift for The Twilight Saga fans, Stephenie Meyer brings us a retelling of Twilight. Bella becomes Beaufort Swan. Edward is now Edythe Cullen. Jacob turned into Jules Black. Carlisle and Esme Cullen were Carine and Earnest. Jasper and Rosalie turn into Jessamine and Royal Hale. While Alice and Emmet were now Archie and Eleanor Cullen. As you can see all the characters were gender-swapped except for Charlie and Renee.

I absolutely adored this ‘new’ story!!! I didn’t have a hard time separating Bella and Edward from Beau and Edythe like some readers did. I don’t know why but I felt like I was really reading a different story. I can’t help but squeal whenever Beau and Edythe touch, gah! I felt like a teenager all over again. Though, there were funny times like the piggyback ride. *snorts* I mean, come on! Who can read through that scene without even a hint of a laugh? Ever since it was broadcast that the bonus content for the 10th year anniversary of Twilight was a swap-gender story, that was all I could think about… all those times Edward was able to carry Bella.

Anyway, I absolutely adore the rest of the Cullens. I even had a huge crush on Royal! Yeah, I know. I could be pretty shallow at times. And the different ending! Oh, I had mixed feels for that one. I was thrilled but also a little sad because of the consequences of that event. I’m even itching for a sequel! I know I shouldn’t get my hopes up but there’s nothing to do when one of your all time favorite series ended already. Beau and Edythe really do make my heart beat fast like Bella and Edward before.

Read: November 18, 2015

Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

