Fantasy, Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

DT

Divergent

DT1

Okaaay, I have to read the first few chapters twice before I got the hang of it. I was on the verge of giving up on the book like all the piles of my to-reads together with Delirium, but resisted and was tempted by Four. Imagining the dystopian setting is a little hard because they are way advance but at the same time things are pretty simple too.

After a great war, five factions were formed to restore peace: Abnegation, Amity, Candor, Dauntless and Erudite. The Abnegation faction is the one who rule the city since they’re selfless. They wear gray clothes, cut their hair the same way every few months and live simply. Amity are all the friendly people, advocating peace and all that. They wear bright colors like red, orange and yellow. They’re also responsible for planting crops. Candor does not lie and they’re like the judge. They see everything in black and white, that’s why their clothes are black and white. (Kinda remind me of Men In Black actually.) Dauntless guards the fence surrounding the city. They wear black clothes and most of them have piercing and tattoos. Lastly, the Erudite are the braniacs. They wear blue clothes.

I see Beatrice Prior as a very strong character. She showed different personalities in various situations that I can truly relate. I think most people would appreciate that Tris is also making mistakes even if we want to shake her saying, “You stupid, stupid girl!” It goes without saying that even the heroine is not perfect. Every character must have a flaw so that readers will be able to relate more. Oh and Four, who couldn’t fall in love with you? I like brooding and mysterious men. Four being a slightly older is just a bonus. He’s an enigma from the start. I’m sure we’re all shipping the two or just wanting him for ourselves. Okay, aside from being gorgeous, Four is the knight in shining armor not because he’s a prince but more of a warrior. He eventually showed the passionate and protective side of him.

The twist of the story was unexpected, well it is for me. The deaths of some characters are truly gut-wrenching. I shed a few tears myself. It was really a horrible feeling because this is only the first book and there are already a handful of deaths, what more for the remaining two books? However, I think it is necessary to get the right reaction from the readers. If you’re planning to read this book, you need to have Insurgent right away because it is a cliff-hanger.

P.S. The movie is out. Personally, I didn’t like it because there are a lot of alterations and I cannot feel it. It was so apathetic for me. I think I need to watch it a few more times to get the feels.

Read: May 10, 2013

Rating: 5 Stars

Insurgent

DT2

I really thought this book won’t meet my expectations. You think that Divergent is a cliff hanger, well this is book is so much more. You’ll need Allegiant right away. I love that Ms. Roth doesn’t feel the need to add a love triangle in the story. I believe this is the first I’ve read without the girl having to choose between two boys. It is refreshing! Here we’ll be able to learn more about the different factions (namely Candor and Amity) and even the factionless.

In Tris, it was showed how some people may handle the death of someone they love. Guilt is what drove people to do things that are out of norm. I don’t think this is a justification for her to do the things she did. She’s a Dauntless now, and she didn’t appear to be brave. The Abnegation side of her is still showing. I think this is what being a Divergent means (to have a multiple personality, just kidding). Poor Four got his hands full. I feel so bad for him because of the secrets that were revealed regarding his family. Of course, there should always be problems and secrets so that the characters will show different personalities and emotions and we’ll all sympathize.

Insurgent is like Divergent times two. There are more twist and deaths. I don’t think I’ve ever encounter an author that is capable to kill so much people in a trilogy. God, I don’t think I’ve ever been invested so fast to characters before. This book made me cry too. You’ll need tissues right beside you while reading this, just saying.

P.S. After watching the movie, I was like, ‘WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT?!’

Read: May 10, 2013

Rating: 4 Stars

Allegiant

DT3

OH. MY. GOD.

I can’t believe what happened! Initiates, brace yourselves for tears, tears and more tears!

Shifting of POVs were sooo confusing. I keep going back to make sure I had the right perspective. I was also in a rush to finish this book, because come on; wouldn’t you like to be one of the first to know how this book will end?

I think what Ms. Roth did here is amazing, hence for the five stars. For the conclusion of the series, it was explained why there are Divergent and who are the people outside of the fence. It was all scientific jargon once they’ve got out of the city. And of course there are deaths. What did you expect? Haven’t you learned anything from the past two books?

Some parts may be boring for others because we’re all expecting for a lot of actions. Some may have not liked what happened in the end, but if you digest everything from Divergent you’ll see that it was an appropriate ending. Actually it was a great justification for Tris. No character is that perfect, and I’m not talking physically. Besides, all heroes will fall in the end. A little flaw I can’t help but point out is that Four appeared to be not the Four we all loved in the previous books. The appeal is not there anymore, at least for me. Even before the ending, he doesn’t appear to be as strong and collected as before. However, I love the ending. I love what Four did even though it makes me tear up all over again.

The book was amazing, have I mentioned that?

Read: October 15, 2013

Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

