Young Adult

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Second Chance Summer

SCS

As the title suggest, this book is about having and giving second chances. Our heroine, Taylor Edwards had a habit of running away when things get tough. Literally. One summer years ago in their lake house cost her friendship and first love. Seven years after that disastrous summer, the Edwards family received devastating news that will change their lives forever and they decided to spend the last summer together as a family back to their old lake house. Taylor now had a chance to reconcile to the people she left behind, namely her best friend and her first boyfriend. A chance to savor the last moments of being a whole family again, because after this summer nothing will ever be the same again.

This book is so close to my heart it made me cry a handful times through the whole thing. I didn’t pause; I didn’t take a break, because the story is so riveting I wanted to see the end. I didn’t focus much on Taylor’s love life, but more on their family. I wanted the happy ending because I’m living on denial. But I get that we don’t always get what we want. The characters don’t always live happily ever after. But I’m glad they had closure. I’m glad that despite the bittersweet conclusion, they live on.

Read: January 1, 2015

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

