Contemporary Romance, Horror, New Adult

Red Hill by Jamie McGuire

RHJM

Red Hill

RHJM1

West on Highway 11
On our way to heaven
North on Highway 123.
123? 123!
Cross the border.
That’s an order!
Left at the white tower.
So Mom can clean the doctor’s shower.
Left at the cemetery.
Creepy…and scary!
First right!
That’s right!
Red! Hill! Roooooooad

 I am not a fan of zombies. May it be a movie, tv series or books. The fact that Jamie McGuire wrote this didn’t add any appeal at all. Zombies were second on my irrational list of fears. Without the encouragement of a dear friend of mine, I don’t think I would ever read Red Hill. She promised me that I would love this regardless. I don’t think she promised me anything about not being scared but it would be pointless anyway because I know I would still have nightmares over these zombies.

Scarlet was fighting everyday to raise her two daughters, Jenna and Halle. Nathan was struggling in his marriage and the only thing tethering him is his daughter, Zoe. Miranda was debating the usefulness of her VW Bug as she make an escape from college with her sister, Ashley, and their boyfriends, Bryce and Cooper respectively. Watch as our character’s lives intertwined as they struggle to survive the zombie apocalypse with their self intact.

I didn’t know it was possible for Jamie McGuire to make zombie apocalypse be a sob-worthy book. I shouldn’t have doubted her. Jesus, I don’t know how many times my heart broke with every unexpected death that came. It was like my unsusceptible favorite characters were on the death row just waiting for the axe to come down. This book gave new meaning to calm before the storm because I actually didn’t expect a lot of them dying when they should be safe and sound in the Red Hill. I love all the characters. Their different and clashing personalities were so essential to make the book so alive. It was not only the thrill and suspense of the chase against the zombies but also the feelings of falling in and out love a couple of times for the first times. The reunions between families were so heartbreaking also.

Read: January 20, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Among Monsters

RHJM1.5

Jamie McGuire continues to make her readers laugh and cry, hope and loss, and love and hate with this new astonishing novella accompanying Red Hill. This novella features Scarlett’s daughters’ journey to the safe haven of Red Hill. Together with their father, Andrew, Jenna and Halle wade their way against the herds of zombies.

RHJM1.51

Jamie McGuire didn’t fail to make me cry once again! I didn’t know it was possible to read more gut-wrenching stories behind Red Hill. The zombie apocalypse didn’t only bring destruction to our characters’ lives but also a chance to redeem themselves. A chance to forgive long ago wounds. A chance to be a family again. I feel for Jenna, for doing things she doesn’t want to but have to… to ensure the safety of the people she cares about. At such a young age, she made decisions that no girl should be worrying about. It was not only the physical wounds that could attest Jenna’s standing as a survivor but also her emotional and mental scars. I am in awe of her. I don’t think I could survive a zombie apocalypse even if I have the right tools. Seriously, I felt like a proud mama bear to Jenna and Halle through this whole novella.

Read: January 20, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

