Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittany C. Cherry

Loving Mr. Daniels

LMD

I’ve decided to read this with an off chance of light reading. A good friend of mine has read this   and she loved it, so I knew that I was in good hands. However, I didn’t expect for this to break my heart. AGAIN. I thought I was gonna have a break from all the heartbreaking feeeeeels this week. I was so, so wrong.

This is a boy-meets-girl kind of a situation. However, the girl’s twin just died and she was forced to live with her father’s family because her kind-of-alcoholic mother can’t stand the sight of her. There she met “the one”. Like all story goes, the timing wasn’t right. He turned out to be her English teacher. They can’t be together anymore, yada, yada, yada. Also, Mr. Daniels was also carrying some emotional baggage. Will these two broken souls find a way to heal each other? To be happy together? To be who and what they really are?

I really wanted to give this book a five star rating, but I didn’t like the teacher-student approach. I find it a pretty common scenario these days. I focused on the family and friendship settings instead. We met Hailey and Ryan, Ashlyn’s step-siblings. They made a huge impact on the story. They were the ones that made me kept going. I was more curious of their love lifes than of Ashlyn’s. Ninety-nine percent of the books I’ve read, it was proven that whoever the girl met that made her feel butterflies and all that shit was “the one”. So, I guess I was just in for the ride to see how the rest of the characters turned out. And then, I cried. Something major happened and I can’t believe that it did. I thought it was just a freaking nightmare, but it’s not!!! And that was why I gave this a four-point-five instead of four only.

Fave quote from the book:

“I was lost, but so were they.

There were no maps to be found.

At least I wasn’t walking alone.”

 Read: January 19, 2015

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

