Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

If I Stay Duet by Gayle Forman

IIS

If I Stay

IIS1

Dubbed by some as the next The Fault in Our Stars, I have to agree. I was not really convince with the reviews I’ve read regarding this book that I have to watch the movie to see what the hype was all about. And I loved it!!!

It was a story of a girl’s journey after losing her whole family in a tragic accident. A journey where she was a ghost/spirit who can’t do anything but to watch as things unfold. She has to make the tough choice whether to let go or… stay.

I’ve mentioned that I loved the movie and I’m happy to share that I absolutely love the book too!!! This book just broke my heart. I can totally relate to Mia because I was the eldest and I have a little brother. I was also a daddy’s girl… tho none of us were musically inclined. I cried so much while reading the emotional parts. I truly felt so attached to this story. Especially the flashbacks… her memories of before, it was just so heartbreakingly good. This book would leave you a crying mess, you’ve been warned.

Read: March 3, 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Where She Went

IIS2

We’ve seen the world through Mia’s eyes, now Adam’s here to share his.

Three years after the tragedy that rocked their world, Adam’s now a famous rock star… with no Mia. After Mia left for Julliard, she never looked back. One night in New York seemed to be the only second chance they’ve got to be together… or to finally have the long overdue closure they both deserved.

“But you—you asked me to stay. You begged me to stay. You stood over me and you made a promise to me, as sacred as any vow. And I can understand why you’re angry, but you can’t blame me. You can’t hate me for taking your word.”

Where She Went was the perfect conclusion for this duet. If this book doesn’t leave you emotionally raw, I don’t know what will. As Adam and Mia shift through their memories, I can’t help but cry a little. Especially the parts when her parents were still alive. The road they traveled in order to heal may have led to a future where their happiness is not absolute but at least they had this one night to be just Adam and Mia. It was also educating to see how our beloved characters grew and changed. This may not be the future we concluded for them to have after If I Stay but I guess what truly mattered was that they’re both finally living and not merely surviving.

Read: March 3, 2015

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Leave a Reply

